Site Loading...

Esports Events to Watch This Month (April)

Posted by ReadyUp on April 1, 2021

Want to know what esports events you absolutely need to check out this month? We’ve got you covered! Every month our staff pick some of the biggest events from all across esports that we think you need to watch.

With the first quarter of 2021 behind us, esports is just getting started. There are lots of top-quality esports going on this month and plenty of playoffs to enjoy. All four major regions in League of Legends are holding their playoffs this month to determine which teams will represent them at MSI, the first international event of the year. ESL Pro League is wrapping up Season XIII and will crown a champion in the coming weeks. The Call of Duty League will conclude its second stage of competition for the year including another major tournament. Last but certainly not least, the Overwatch League will finally begin the 2021 season. There is a lot to cover here so let’s get to it!

 

ESL Pro League Season 13 - Playoffs

Highlight Match: Grand Finals
Sunday April 11th - 9:30AM EST / 6:30AM PST

The ESL Pro League is one of the most prestigious leagues in all of CSGO competition. This month the League will crown the 13th champion and determine one of the front runners for the best team in the world during 2021. The group stage has already gone on for weeks and seen some incredible matches and the playoffs are sure to be even better. While we think you should tune into every day of the competition you should definitely make sure to catch the Finals.

 

Call of Duty League Stage 2

Highlight Match: Major Finals


The second stage of the Call of Duty League will conclude this month with another major tournament. These tournaments are a fantastic way to inject excitement and intensity into what would otherwise be just another week of round-robin matches. With additional money and prestige on the line, these majors are well worth tuning into for any serious FPS fan.

LCS Mid Season Showdown

Highlight Match: Grand Finals
Sunday April 11th - 4PM EST / 1PM PST

After a long spring split the time is finally here for North America to crown a champion and send them to represent the region at MSI. Team Liquid and Cloud9 are the two frontrunners to obtain that honor but there are still a few games to be played and every last one of them could make all the difference. The experience of international competition is critical for any team with aspirations of doing well at the World Championship towards the end of the year making this playoff as important as domestic competition can be.

LEC Spring 2021 Playoffs

Highlight Match: Grand Finals
Sunday April 11th - 11AM EST / 8AM PST

As with the LCS in North America, the LEC playoffs will determine which European team will go to MSI to battle all the other regional champions. G2 has held this honor for many years now and it looks like they will do so again but they still could be dethroned. As one of the best teams in the world for the past few years with their sights still set on obtaining a World Championship, qualifying and performing well at this event is critical for them to achieve their goals.

Overwatch League 2021

Highlight Match: Opening Match
Friday April 16th - 3PM EST / 12PM PST

The Overwatch League is back for another season! Kicking things off later this month the OWL is one of the premier esports competitions in the world and one of the first to drive geolocation as a major staple in the league’s structure. Root for your favorite team or the one that represents you locally as we all strap in and gear up to find out just who will be the best team in the world this year.