Site Loading...

Esports Events to Watch This Week (August 31 – September 6)

Posted by ReadyUp on September 1, 2020

Want to know what esports events you absolutely need to check out this week? We’ve got you covered! Every week our staff pick some of the biggest events from all across esports that we think you need to watch.

Esports competition continues to thrive this week with plenty of great events to tune into. G Fuel is running its own Halo 3 tournament featuring the best players in the world and any amateurs who want to try their hand at taking them. ESL Pro League is beginning its twelfth season pitting the best teams in each region against each other in CSGO. The Overwatch League is beginning their playoffs after a grueling season of competition that will bring us closer to crowning a champion. Speaking of crowning champions, both the LCS and the LEC are holding their Grand Finals this weekend which will finally complete the ordering of the teams attending the World Championship later this year and crown one team from both North America and Europe as the best team in their region at the end of 2020.

G Fuel Energy Games: Halo 3

Highlight Match: Week 2
Tues September 1st - 8PM EST / 5PM PST

Halo Fans have been lacking any major competitions in recent months but thankfully G Fuel has stepped up to the plate to solve that issue. This tournament is an amateur tournament anyone could enter but will pit these teams against some of the most talented professionals in the world. With such a long time since the last event, this is a tournament any Halo Fan will want to make sure they tune into to get their fix of one of the best console esports.

ESL Pro League Season 12 Europe - Week 1

Highlight Match: Natus Vincere vs Godsent
Tuesday September 1st - 8AM EST / 5AM PST

ESL Pro League Season 12 kicks off today with competition in both Europe and North America. Matches will take place every day of the week, besides Mondays, for the next 5 weeks and this match between Na’Vi and Godsent will kick it all off. ESL Pro League is always one of the best competitions in the world of CSGO and now with most tournaments being moved online or canceled this League takes an even bigger place on the world stage. Season 12 is shaping up to be one of the best ESL Pro League seasons to date so make sure you catch the action each and every week! It is the perfect bridge on which to get your CSGO fix until ESL One New York at the end of this month.

Overwatch League Playoffs - Round 1

Highlight Match: Boston Uprising vs Houston Outlaws
Thursday September 3rd - 3PM EST / 12PM PST

After a grueling 30 weeks of regular-season competition, the playoffs are finally here! The Overwatch League experimented this year with multiple tournaments spread throughout the regular season but now it is time for the most important tournament of the year. The playoffs will crown the third ever league champion and with so many teams now involved in the competition and so many elite players the title means more than it ever has before. Our featured match is the opening match of the playoffs as that is where all the hype will begin! Matches are played at the same time each day for the remainder of the weekend as well as some additional games taking place at 5AM EST each morning after.

LCS Summer 2020 Finals Weekend

Highlight Match: FlyQuest vs TBD
September 6th - 4PM EST / 1PM PST

The final weekend of the LCS 2020 season is upon us and there is still plenty to be determined. Only three teams remain but all of them still want the title and want to avoid the third-place finish that will result in having to compete in the play-in stage to make it to the main event of the World Championship. FlyQuest won’t have to worry about that as they are already in the finals and have secured a guaranteed top-two finish. Team Liquid and TSM will be squaring off first in a match on Saturday and then the winner will take on FlyQuest in our featured match on Sunday. This is the most important weekend in LCS of the entire season so make sure you tune in!

LEC Summer 2020 Finals Weekend

Highlight Match: Fnatic vs TBD
September 6th - 11AM EST / 8AM PST

The final weekend of the 2020 LEC season is upon us and there are only three teams left. The first match is between G2 Esports and Rogue which will determine the second team in our featured match, the European finals. With Europe reaching the last two World Championship finals the team that emerges as the European champion will be widely regarded as one of the favorites in the upcoming World Championship. The regional crown is also a tremendous source of pride for the teams that emerge with it, making this final weekend of games one every League of Legends fan should tune into.