Site Loading...

Esports Events to Watch This Week (December 14 – 20)

Posted by ReadyUp on December 14, 2020

Want to know what esports events you absolutely need to check out this week? We’ve got you covered! Every week our staff pick some of the biggest events from all across esports that we think you need to watch.

While the majority of the world is slowing down and getting ready for the holiday season esports is still going strong. This week there is action for every type of esports fan. Mobile fans will continue to have PUBG Global Championship gameplay with the final week of League Play at the PUBG Mobile Open Global Championship. IEM is back for the final event of 2020 bringing 8 of the best teams CSGO teams in the world together for one final clash and the opportunity to end the year on top. Beyond the Summit is bringing us Rocket League competition from some of the best teams in North America in a more relaxed environment that should be more fun while still as competitive as any major event. DreamHack is hosting the final qualifier for Europe to enter the Starcraft II Masters event at the start of 2021. Last but certainly not least, the Streetfighter League brings us the final week of competition in 2020 for FGC fans around the world. There is a lot to cover so let’s dive right in!

PUBG Mobile Global Championship

Highlight Match: Opening Match
Tuesday December 15th - 6 AM EST / 3 AM PST

This week marks the fourth and final week in the league portion of this global championship. This event is the pinnacle of what is possible through mobile gaming in both talent and production and is sure to be one of the biggest mobile esports events of the entire year. For any fans of PUBG, mobile gaming, or Battle Royales more generally this is an event that is well worth tuning into.

Intel Extreme Masters Season XV - Global Challenge

Highlight Match: Grand Finals
Sunday December 20th - 11 AM EST / 8 AM PST

The final IEM of 2020 is sure to bring the year to a thrilling conclusion for CSGO fans everywhere. With $500,000 and the opportunity to exit the year as the best team in the world on the line you can rest assured that every team in attendance will be doing all they can to emerge victorious. With eight of the best teams in the world participating this tournament is sure to be the pinnacle of competitive CSGO and a demonstration of just how talented the best players in the world are.  Matches take place every day beginning on Tuesday but the Grand Finals on Sunday morning is a match worth watching for any esports fan.

Rocket League Summit 2: North America

Highlight Match: Grand Finals
Saturday December 19th - 7 PM EST / 4 PM PST

This Rocket League event is bringing many of the top players in North America together to compete in one final event of 2020. While the event is supposed to be more of a casual atmosphere, the competition is still likely to be intense with so many top players in attendance. If you want one final taste of high-level Rocket League before the holidays then this is the event for you. The Grand Finals take place on Saturday night so make sure you tune in then!

DH SC2 Masters 2020 Last Chance 2021: Europe Qualifier

Highlight Match: Opening Matches
Tuesday December 15th - 2 PM EST / 11 AM PST

This is the final chance European players have to Qualify for DreamHack Masters at the start of 2021. With this being the final chance for players to qualify for such a big tournament this will be a highly competitive day of games. Only four of the players who begin the day in the competition will end it with a spot at DreamHack Masters. While Starcraft is a game that has fallen from its former throne atop all other esports, it is still highly entertaining and well worth tuning into for any fan of RTS titles.

Street Fighter League Season 3 Week 10

Highlight Match: Opening Match
Thursday December 17th - 7 PM EST / 3 PM PST

With most fighting game tournaments being moved to online or canceled entirely events like this Street Figher League are a great way for FGC fans to stay engaged with their favorite esport. As the oldest and one of the most popular esports of all time, Street Fighter has found an entirely new format with this team-based competition through this official Capcom league. For any esport fan looking for something to do this Thursday evening, this is an event well worth tuning into as FGC matches are some of the most exciting in any esport. This is the final week of the 2020 competition so make sure you tune in!