Site Loading...

Esports Events to Watch This Week (February 15 – 21)

Posted by ReadyUp on February 16, 2021

Want to know what esports events you absolutely need to check out this week? We’ve got you covered! Every week our staff pick some of the biggest events from all across esports that we think you need to watch.

 

This is a big week in esports for MOBA, FPS, and Battle Royale fans. Moba fans can enjoy the action in League of Legends as play continues in the spring split across all four major regions. Call of Duty League is back for the second week of their 2021 season and the start of IEM Katowice will be more than enough competition to satisfy even the most dedicated fan of FPS titles. Last but certainly not least, the PUBG Global Invitational enters its second week of competition. With so much going on this week let’s jump right in!

 

PUBG Global Invitational.S 2021 - Week 2

Highlight Match: Weekly Finals
Sunday February 21st - 5AM EST / 2AM PST

The PUBG Global Championship has brought together all of the best teams from around the world to compete in the Global Invitational. This marks the second week of the competition and will help determine the best teams in the competition moving forward as well as which teams will progress out of this initial stage. While PUBG never received the large-scale notoriety of Fortnite it is still an incredibly entertaining esport to tune into. If you wake up early before work this week there is no better entertainment for your morning routine than this global competition.

IEM Katowice 2021 Play In + Group Stages

Highlight Match: Opening Match
Tuesday February 16th - 6AM EST / 3AM PST

IEM Katowice is always one of the biggest esports events of the year and this year will be no different. This week marks the start of this legendary event with both the Play In Stage and Group Stage taking place. This is a great week to tune in and become acquainted with all of the teams and get a feel for who could emerge as the champions and who some of the dark horses may be. This is an event already on the calendar for any CSGO fan but more general FPS fans should mark these games on their calendars as well!

Call of Duty League - Stage 1 Week 2

Highlight Match: Toronto UItra vs Atlanta Faze
Saturday February 20th - 6PM EST / 3PM PST

After an explosive first weekend, the Call of Duty League is back for another exciting weekend of competition. The weekend will be full of exciting matchups but the one in particular we want to highlight is between Toronto and Atlanta as both teams emerged from the opening weekend undefeated. While Atlanta did play an additional game this will be an excellent opportunity for Toronto to prove they are one of the top contenders moving forward this season as FaZe was also one of the best teams throughout last season making it all the way to the finals of the inaugural season of competition.

LEC Spring 2021 Week 5

Highlight Match: MAD Lions vs Excel
Friday February 19th - 1PM EST / 10AM PST

The LEC has now reached the halfway point of the season and it is beginning to become more clear how the teams stack up against each other. This week our featured matchup is between Mad Lions and Excel who are currently tied for 4th place with 5-4 records on the season thus far. This is a big game as it will help dictate which of the teams can inch closer to the top of the standings. With the middle of the pack so tightly contested, only two games separating 3rd – 7th, every victory for these teams in the middle could mean the difference between making playoffs and falling short.

LCS Spring 2021 Week 3

Highlight Match: Team Liquid vs Cloud9
Sunday February 21st - 7PM EST / 4PM PST

The LCS is back for another week of competition and we have an incredible matchup lined up for you. Team Liquid will be facing off against Cloud9 in a rematch of the Lock In finals from the start of the year. Despite winning the initial tournament of the season, Team Liquid has struggled throughout the regular season so far sitting on a 3-3 record through the first two weeks. Cloud9 on the other hand has demonstrated why they reached the finals of that opening competition currently sitting at the top of the standings with a 5-1 record. The best of five between these teams was highly contested and exciting making this matchup incredibly enticing for League of Legends fans everywhere. If you are only going to tune into a single LCS match this week, this is the match to watch.