Site Loading...

Esports Events to Watch This Week (January 18 – 24)

Posted by ReadyUp on January 18, 2021

Want to know what esports events you absolutely need to check out this week? We’ve got you covered! Every week our staff pick some of the biggest events from all across esports that we think you need to watch.

While 2021 has already gotten well underway in the world of esports this week brings even more competition into the fold. League of Legends competition will officially be underway across all four major regions with Europe’s LEC beginning play this week and the LCS Lock In entering the playoff portion of the tournament. CSGO fans have plenty to be excited about this week as well with the BLAST Premier Global Finals featuring 8 of the best teams in 2020 and $1,000,000 on the line. FGC fans continue to get their weekly dose of the Street Fighter League and Rocket League fans will enjoy the beginning of the third and final North American Regional competition in Season X. With so many different major esports events going on there is something for any fan to enjoy.

 

BLAST Premier: Global Finals 2020

Highlight Match: Grand Finals
Sunday January 24th - 2:30PM EST / 11:30AM PST

After an incredible year in 2020 the eight teams invited to these Global Finals are without a doubt some of the best in the world. As such this is set to be an incredible start to the highest level of CSGO competition for 2021. All these teams will want to start the year well but to add even more incentive there is $1,000,000 on the line making this a lifechanging tournament for all of the competitors. This event is already on the radar of most CSGO enthusiasts but it should be on yours as well as an incredible week of highly exciting and competitive games.

Street Fighter League - Season 3 Week 13

Highlight Match: Opening Match
Thursday January 21st - 7PM EST / 4PM PST

With most fighting game tournaments being moved to online or canceled entirely events like this Street Figher League are a great way for FGC fans to stay engaged with their favorite esport. As the oldest and one of the most popular esports of all time, Street Fighter has found an entirely new format with this team-based competition through this official Capcom league. For any esport fan looking for something to do this Thursday evening, this is an event well worth tuning into as FGC matches are some of the most exciting in any esport.

LEC Spring 2021 - Week 1

Highlight Match: G2 vs Mad Lions
Friday January 22nd - 12 PM EST / 9 AM PST

The LEC is finally back and things are set to be more interesting than ever this year. G2, the best team in the region for the past two years, lost one of their star players to North America. With that loss comes a multitude of questions surrounding the team and if they can be as dominant as they have been in the past. If they do stumble this season the European throne will be wide open for the first time in recent memory making this a split well worth watching. With G2 debuting their new roster in the very first match of the split, we had to make it our match to watch this weekend.

LCS Lock In - Playoffs

Highlight Match: Quarter Finals
Saturday January 23rd - 4PM EST / 1PM PST

The LCS is trying is a brand new format to kick off the 2021 season by using a tournament to begin the split. This is a much more exciting format than regular-season round-robin matches and the excitement truly picks up this weekend as we enter into the playoffs. The top 8 teams will battle it out in the quarter-finals deciding who gets to advance even further and show the world and the rest of the league that they are truly one of the teams to watch this year. These playoffs give us a rare chance to watch many of the North American teams in full series rather than single games. We won’t know who will be in these playoffs until later in the week but we do know that they will be worth checking out when they begin.

RLCS Season X - Winter: North America Regional Event 3

Highlight Match: Opening Matches
Saturday January 23rd - 5PM EST / 2PM PST

The final regional event in North America for Season X is coming to a close this weekend which will determine who the best teams representing the region will be at the international major later this year. This is the first major North America competition of the new year and the last chance for the North American teams to prove themselves as deserving of a spot at that international competition. If you are a fan of Rocket League this is certainly the esports event for you this week.