Site Loading...

Esports Events to Watch This Week (January 25 – 31)

Posted by ReadyUp on January 25, 2021

Want to know what esports events you absolutely need to check out this week? We’ve got you covered! Every week our staff pick some of the biggest events from all across esports that we think you need to watch.

While 2021 has already gotten well underway in the world of esports this week brings even more competition into the fold. League of Legends competition will officially be underway across all four major regions with Europe’s LEC beginning play this week and the LCS Lock In entering the playoff portion of the tournament. CSGO fans have plenty to be excited about this week as well with the BLAST Premier Global Finals featuring 8 of the best teams in 2020 and $1,000,000 on the line. FGC fans continue to get their weekly dose of the Street Fighter League and Rocket League fans will enjoy the beginning of the third and final North American Regional competition in Season X. With so many different major esports events going on there is something for any fan to enjoy.

Street Fighter League - Season 3 Week 14

Highlight Match: Opening Match
Thursday January 28th - 7PM EST / 4PM PST

With most fighting game tournaments being moved to online or canceled entirely events like this Street Figher League are a great way for FGC fans to stay engaged with their favorite esport. As the oldest and one of the most popular esports of all time, Street Fighter has found an entirely new format with this team-based competition through this official Capcom league. For any esport fan looking for something to do this Thursday evening, this is an event well worth tuning into as FGC matches are some of the most exciting in any esport.

ESL One CIS Online Season 1: Upper Division - Week 2

Highlight Match: Virtus Pro vs Live to Win
Friday January 29th - 9 AM EST / 6 AM PST

After a year without The International, the ESL DOTA Pro Circuit is the biggest competition in the world. While this season is very young this week features an intriguing matchup between Virtus Pro and Live to Win who are both undefeated through the first week of competition. For DOTA fans who have been starved of a major competition for quite some time the ESL Pro Circuit is a welcome return to the competitive content they enjoy so much. Any MOBA fan should take note of these games and tune in one of the mornings this week to get acquainted with the father of all MOBAs.

LEC Spring 2021 - Week 2

Highlight Match: Opening Match
Friday January 29th - 12 PM EST / 9 AM PST

After an exciting first week of European competition, the LEC is back for another great weekend full of games. The weekend is full of great games including the final match of the weekend between Fnatic and Mad Lions who were two of the best teams in Europe last season. While that match is particularly exciting the season is young making every single match incredibly impactful and exciting in order to determine the true strength of all the teams as we begin the year. Make sure you tune in from the very first match on Friday to get your fill of some of the highest quality League of Legends action in the world.

LCS Lock In Playoffs - Semi Finals + Finals

Highlight Match: Grand Finals
Sunday January 31st - 4:00 PM EST / 1 PM PST

The LCS is trying is a brand new format to kick off the 2021 season by using a tournament to begin the split. This is a much more exciting format than regular-season round-robin matches and the excitement truly picks up this weekend as we enter into the playoffs. The top 8 teams will battle it out in the quarter-finals deciding who gets to advance even further and show the world and the rest of the league that they are truly one of the teams to watch this year. These playoffs give us a rare chance to watch many of the North American teams in full series rather than single games. There are only the Semi-Finals and Finals left to play which all take place this weekend. Tune in to find out if 100 Thieves, Cloud9, Team Liquid, or Evil Geniuses will exit the weekend as the team to beat in North America.

RLCS Season X - Winter: North America Regional Event 3

Highlight Match: Grand Finals
Sunday January 31st - 5:10 PM EST / 2:10 PM PST

The final regional event in North America for Season X is coming to a close this weekend which will determine who the best teams representing the region will be at the international major later this year. This is the first major North American competition of the new year and the last chance for the North American teams to prove themselves as deserving of a spot at that international competition. If you are a fan of Rocket League this is certainly the esports event for you this week. Make sure you don’t miss the grand finals which will determine the best team from North America heading into international competition.