Site Loading...

Esports Events to Watch This Week (October 12 – 18)

Posted by ReadyUp on October 12, 2020

Want to know what esports events you absolutely need to check out this week? We’ve got you covered! Every week our staff pick some of the biggest events from all across esports that we think you need to watch.

This week both the Smite Pro League and Rainbow Six European League draw even closer to the end of their regular seasons. ESL One Germany will almost conclude the group stage with some of the best DOTA teams in the world on Display. IEM New York will feature competition from both the CIS and North American regions. Lastly, but certainly not least, The League of Legends World Championship enters the Quarter Finals will all four matches taking place before the week is over.

 

League of Legends World Championship - Quarter Finals

Highlight Match: Gen.G vs G2 Esports
Sunday October 18th - 6AM EST / 3AM PST

After a grueling week of action at the League of Legends World Championship, only 8 teams remain standing. This week will truly begin to determine which teams are most likely to claim the game’s ultimate prize as we finally enter best-of-5 competition. All four quarter-finals will be sure to feature some incredible gameplay but we believe the match between G2 Esports and Gen.G will be the closest of the four series. With it serving as the final series of the week it is sure to be one you won’t want to miss.

IEM New York - NA + CIS

Highlight Match: NA Grand Finals
Sunday October 18th - 6:30PM EST / 3:30PM PST

With a week of IEM New York behind us and the European bracket all wrapped up, its time for the start of the CIS competition and the conclusion of North American action. With the North American portion of the tournament concluding, we definitely recommend checking out some of these games en route to the tournament final this Sunday. With the regional final on the line this week it easily becomes the most interesting match taking place. If you needed something to do this Sunday evening look no further than the highest level of CS:GO North America has to offer.

ESL One Germany - Group Stage

Highlight Match: Round 4
Saturday October 17th - 11AM EST / 8AM PST

The group stage at ESL One has finished the first week of competition but there is still one more to go. All of the teams have played two games in their Swiss Bracket format and now the most interesting games of the group stage begin with teams either qualifying for the playoffs or being eliminated from the tournament. This is one of the premier DOTA2 events of the year and has gained even more importance for the community with TI being postponed. All the remaining matches in the group stage should be circled on any DOTA fan’s calendar.

Smite Pro League Phase 2 Week 12

Highlight Match: Radiance vs Sanguine
Friday October 16th - 3PM EST / 12PM PST

As the Smite Pro League is getting closer to its conclusion our featured match this week is between two teams right in the middle of the standings, Radiance and Sanguine. Both teams will be looking for this victory to cement themselves in the upper half of the standings heading into the playoffs which are just around the corner. With most of the other matches this week featuring one team at the top of the standings and the other near the bottom, this match is likely to be the closest and most meaningful.

Rainbow Six European League - Phase 2 Week 4

Highlight Match: G2 vs Chaos Esports
Monday October 12th - 4PM EST / 1PM PST

With only four teams being sent to the Six Invitational and only three days of games left in Europe each and every match is of the utmost importance. Our featured match is between G2 and Chaos who are both contesting that 4th position. While the spot currently belongs to G2 they are only a game ahead of Chaos in the standings. This will make this an incredibly interesting match with the potential to prolong or end their 2020 season. If you don’t watch much Rainbow Six and are looking for a place to start you would be hard-pressed to find a better game than this.