Site Loading...

Esports Events to Watch This Week (October 5 – 11)

Posted by ReadyUp on October 4, 2020

Want to know what esports events you absolutely need to check out this week? We’ve got you covered! Every week our staff pick some of the biggest events from all across esports that we think you need to watch.

We have another very busy week in the world of esports. The League of Legends World Championship will conclude its group stage and IEM New York will get started. The Overwatch League is hosting its grand finals to determine its third-ever champion. Meanwhile, in professional league play both Smite and Rainbow Six are continuing their seasons. There is plenty of exciting action to enjoy this week so make sure you get it all locked in on your calendar!

 

LoL World Championship Group Stage

Highlight Match: TSM vs Fnatic
Saturday October 10th - 4AM EST / 1AM PST

With the first Round Robin almost concluded for this group stage all eyes are now on the second round-robin to determine the final placements of all the teams emerging from the World Championship. So far Group C has proven to be the most interesting group with the matches being close and far less clearly defined top and bottom of the pack. With so much left to be determined on the final day of action in this group all eyes will once again be on the Fnatic and TSM match. These are two of the most storied teams from the West and likely only one of them will be able to advance from the group. With Fnatic taking the first game in this head to head TSM must win this one in order to keep their dreams of moving on alive.

IEM New York

Highlight Match: European Grand Finals
Sunday October 11th - 10AM EST / 7AM PST

IEM New York Online is beginning this week with action in both European and North American divisions. Europe will actually be playing a greatly accelerated tournament with both their group stage and playoffs taking place this week including the European Finals. North America is only beginning its group stage this week while CIS won’t begin competition until next week. With that being said this week provides an excellent opportunity to get a feel for the North American bracket while enjoying the entirety of the European one.

Overwatch League Grand Finals

Highlight Match: Grand Finals
Saturday October 10th - 9AM EST / 6AM PST

Only four teams remain in the Overwatch League as it enters the final weekend of the 2020 season. To crown the third ever OWL champion these four teams will be playing a double-elimination bracket to be absolutely certain that the best team is left standing at the end. For one team in particular this victory would mean even more than it normally would. The San Francisco Shock could become the first team in the League’s history to win multiple championships and also the first team to win back to back as they were the Season 2 Champions. Accomplishing this feat so early in the League’s history would be a major victory for the Shock and truly establish them as the best organization in Overwatch’s young history.

Smite Pro League

Highlight Match: Radiance vs Pittsburgh Knights
Saturday October 10th - 5PM EST / 2PM PST

With only a few weeks remaining in the Smite Pro League each and every match is becoming increasingly impactful. With Ghost Gaming and Spacestation Gaming quite clearly at the top of the pack the interesting battles now are for the pecking order in the middle of the standings. This week the Knights are taking on Radiance which will have a big impact on that middle grouping as there is currently only one victory separating the two teams. While the Knights currently have that game advantage and sit in third place a loss here will shake things up significantly and create a scenario where 3rd – 6th is highly contested. Alternatively, if the Knights can get the victory here they should be able to coast fairly easily into a third-place finish on the season.

Rainbow Six European League

Highlight Match: BDS Esport vs Team Secret
Wednesday October 7th - 4PM EST / 1PM PST

Both BDS and Team Secret have gone undefeated so far through the first two weeks of competition and now we finally get to see these two titans collide in the final match taking place this week. Both teams will want to emerge this season the top European seed to improve their position in the Six Invitational later this year and truly establish themselves as the best team in the entire region. This match is sure to be the pinnacle of European R6 gameplay making it a match you absolutely won’t want to miss.