Site Loading...

Esports Events to Watch This Week (September 21 – 27)

Posted by ReadyUp on September 21, 2020

Want to know what esports events you absolutely need to check out this week? We’ve got you covered! Every week our staff pick some of the biggest events from all across esports that we think you need to watch.

This week there is a ton of esports action for any esport fan regardless of their favorite genre. Both Hearthstone GrandMasters and the Smite Pro League are entering the latter half of their regular season making each week of competition even more important. The ESL Pro League is winding down season 12 with the last week of regular-season competition getting everyone ready for the playoffs. The Capcom Pro Tour is in South America bringing the best players in the region together for an online competition. Last, but certainly not least, the League of Legends World Championship begins this week with the Play-In stage of the event where the final four teams to make it into the main group stage will be decided.

ESL Pro League Season 12 North America - Week 4

Highlight Match: Evil Geniuses vs Team Liquid
Tuesday September 22nd - 1 PM EST / 10AM PST

Our key matchup in the ESL Pro League this week is between the second and third place in the standings entering Week 4. Team Liquid is currently tied for 1st place with a 5-1 record while Evil Geniuses is right behind them sitting at 4-2 on the season. With this being the final regular-season match for both teams, the outcome of this game will determine who finishes higher in the standings giving them a better seed entering the playoffs. This is the very first match of the week for the Pro League making the action exciting and impactful right from the jump.

Hearthstone GrandMasters 2020 - Week 7

Highlight Match: ETC vs Fr0zen
Sunday September 27th - 5 PM EST / 2 PM PST

Group B in North American HearthStone GrandMasters action is incredibly tight with all four players that are currently above the cutoff having identical records so far. Our match of the week is one of the last of the weekends and features two of the players who currently sit in a tie – ETC, and Fr0zen. While both players have other matches before this final showdown on Sunday, the results of this match could be critical in determining who makes it out of the group, or in what order they are able to advance. During a regular-season, games against opponents with similar records are always the most pivotal and exciting, and this match should be no exception.

League of Legends World Championship - Play-In Phase

Highlight Match: Team Liquid vs Mad Lions
Friday September 25th - 8 AM EST / 5 AM PST

The League of Legends World Championship is one of the biggest events in all of esports each year. There are already 12 teams who have earned their spots in the tournament but others will have to survive this Play-In phase in order to compete against the best in the world. This is always an event that drives incredible regional pride and determines the narratives when comparing regions for the entirety of the following year. With that in mind we thought there was no better matchup to showcase this then between Team Liquid and Mad Lions representing North America and Europe respectively. Both teams are favorites to make it through this portion of the tournament and into the main group stage, but this matchup will determine which team will have an easier path to doing so and stoke the NA vs EU debate once again.

Capcom Pro Tour Online South America 2

Highlight Match: Tournament Finals
Sunday September 27th - 8 PM EST / 5 PM PST

For fans of fighting games, there are few events more important than the Capcom Pro Tour. This weekend’s competition will bring the best players from across South America together virtually to compete online and determine regional supremacy. Additionally, players will earn points for their performance at this event which can help them qualify for the World Final pitting them against the best players from around the World as one of the South American representatives. With so much on the line, this is an event well worth tuning into for any fan of Street Fighter or FGC enthusiast.

Smite Pro League Phase 2 - Week 9

Highlight Match: Ghost Gaming vs Radiance
Sunday September 27th - 3 PM EST / 12 PM PST

As Phase 2 of the Smite Pro League is coming to an end there is a headlining match this week between the 2nd and 3rd seeded Ghost Gaming and Radiance. This matchup will be a great test of strength with playoffs around the corner and allow fans to assess which team is looking stronger heading into the most important part of the year. Radiance has less matches played than Ghost right now making it possible for them to still catchup in the standings and take second place for themselves. To do that however they will need to defeat Ghost on Sunday making this by far the most exciting match of the entire weekend.