Site Loading...

Esports Events to Watch This Week (September 28 – October 4)

Posted by ReadyUp on September 28, 2020

Want to know what esports events you absolutely need to check out this week? We’ve got you covered! Every week our staff pick some of the biggest events from all across esports that we think you need to watch.

As we transition into October there is plenty of esports action to enjoy this week. The League of Legends World Championship will conclude its Play-In Stage and begin the Group Stage of the main event. ESL Pro League wraps up season 12 in Europe bringing us some of the most exciting games in CS:GO. Both the Smite Pro League and Hearthstone Grand Masters are entering the last stretch of their regular season. Last but certainly not least, the RLCS Season X is back with another week of The Grid. Regardless of your favorite genre or esport there is some incredible esports action to enjoy.

 

LoL World Championship 2020 - Group Stage

Highlight Match: TSM vs Fnatic
Saturday October 3rd - 9AM EST / 6AM PST

Two of the most established teams in the West go head to head in the final match of the opening day of Group Stage. TSM is North America’s #1 seed while Fnatic is #2 from Europe but both are in the same group at the World Championship. This match will go a long way in showing everyone how this group will play out and create the early narrative for both teams at this tournament. The NA vs EU rivalry is always a big one at the World Championship and while Europe has certainly had the advantage in years past North America is hoping this year will be different. With TSM being the North American champions the hopes of the entire region are on them and this match will help us determine if North America can make it past the Group Stage this year.

ESL Pro League Season 12 Europe - Week 4

Highlight Match: Grand Finals
Saturday October 4th - 11AM EST / 8AM PST

After four weeks of competition, the European portion of ESL Pro League Season 12 comes to a close this weekend. There are matches each day this week but the Grand Finals this weekend is the match everyone will have their eyes on. The final standings will be used as a baseline expectation for all the teams at the upcoming IEM New York Event and the Season 12 Champion will undoubtedly enter New York as the European tournament favorite. Currently, Astralis is leading the pack in Europe with 6 wins in their 7 games this season. Now they just have to finish what they have started and establish themselves as the Season 12 Champion.

Smite Pro League Phase 2 - Week 10

Highlight Match: Spacestation Gaming vs Pittsburgh Knights
Sunday October 4th - 3PM EST / 12PM PST

We’re about two thirds of the way through Phase 2 of the 2020 season and Spacestation Gaming still sits on top of the leaderboard. In 4th place are the Pittsburgh Knights who have a tough challenge ahead of them this week taking on the league leaders. Spacestation has been incredibly consistent all phase long with only two losses in their first 13 games but the Knights will want to make that three this week and are one of the only teams capable of doing so. With the middle of the standings being so closely contested a win here for the Knights would go a long way in helping them secure their position in the playoffs.

Hearthstone Grand Masters - Week 8

Highlight Match: Swidz vs Zhym
Friday October 2nd - 1PM EST / 10AM PST

The final match of Day 1 in European competition is between the top two competitors in Division B. Both players have won 4 of their 5 games on the season and with this being the final week of the regular season both players will want to secure this victory in order to finish on top of their division heading into playoffs. The standings in Division B are still incredibly close with 3rd, 4th, 5th place sitting just one win behind Swidz and Zhym. This makes losing this match incredibly scary as not only will that forfeit the possibility of taking first in the Division but could also jeopardize their ability to make the playoffs. It’s rare for one match to have such incredible swing potential in the standings, especially in the final week of a league, making this one game well worth tuning into.

RLCS Season X - The Grid Week 9

Highlight Match: Grand Finals
Tuesday September 29th - 10:30PM EST / 7:30PM PST

The RLCS is experimenting with a new format during the pandemic and the result is The Grid. 16 of the best teams from North America are battling it out to determine the Season 10 Champion but all games occur at the same time each week and every player is allowed to broadcast their own games. The result is the ultimate viewing experience for Rocket League fans where they can watch whatever game, team, or player they want to see most. This is the final week of the action so make sure you tune in!